Taylor Swift Performs All Of 1989 In Tokyo Tour Opener

At this point, Taylor Swift could do a greatest-hits setlist in her sleep, but Taylor Swift is not about the past. Last night, Swift played the Tokyo Dome, something she couldn’t have done if she was still a country singer. This was the first time she’d done a full headlining show (at least, in a non-Jingle Ball capacity) since she released her album 1989 last year. And during the show, Taylor barely even dipped into her back catalog. She only did three of her older hits: “I Knew You Were Trouble,” “Love Story,” and a weirdly Cars-esque version of “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together.” (These are, not coincidentally, the three older Swift hits that could’ve fit the most cleanly onto 1989.) She also did every single song from 1989. She even did bonus tracks. For a stadium show, that takes a serious level of confidence. Watch a highlight reel of fan-made videos and check out the show’s setlist below.

01 “Welcome To New York”
02 “New Romantics”
03 “Blank Space”
04 “I Knew You Were Trouble”
05 “I Wish You Would”
06 “How You Get The Girl”
07 “I Know Places”
08 “All You Had To Do Was Stay”
09 “You Are In Love”
10 “Clean”
11 “Love Story”
12 “Style”
13 “This Love”
14 “Bad Blood”
15 “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”
16 “Enchanted”/”Wildest Dreams” (piano medley)
17 “Out Of The Woods”
18 “Shake It Off”

As always: Respect motherfucking craft when you see it.

[Photo via Getty Images]

Source link

Mike Hawk
I'm a writer and connoisseur of all types of music. I've been doing this for over 10 years now. Some of my favorite artists include Drake, J. Cole, Jay-Z, Travis Scott and Migos. [email protected]