LUWUM – “The Band” (First Listen)

Jesse Miller of Seattle operates under the name “LUWUM,” a name given to him when he was born in Uganda while his parents were missionaries. Janani Luwum was the archbishop of Uganda in the ’70s who was killed for speaking out against Idi Amin’s tyrannic regime. Although his moniker is serious, Miller’s music isn’t as such, at least in its mood. His sophomore album Places Worn comes out this summer, and today we premiere the opening track, “The Band.” The self-engineered and self-recorded song lays down twangy, drunken-sounding guitars with Miller’s warped voice. Listen below along with minimal, meditative previous singles “A Weird Flash” and “Making Up A Mood.”

Here is the tracklist:
01 “The Band”
02 “Jazz Standards”
03 “Making Up A Mood”
04 “A Weird Flash”
05 “100% Natural”
06 “Early Girl”
07 “Naked in the Wave Pool”
08 “Bushwhacking”
09 “Stumbling”
10 “Anthem of the Universe”

Places Worn is out 8/28 on Olympic Dreams Records.

via Source

Mike Hawk
I'm a writer and connoisseur of all types of music. I've been doing this for over 10 years now. Some of my favorite artists include Drake, J. Cole, Jay-Z, Travis Scott and Migos. [email protected]