Hamilton Leithauser – “To Susan On The West Coast Waiting” (Donovan Cover) (First Listen)

Legendary folk musician Donovan will have a tribute compilation out this fall, titled Gazing With Tranquility, through non-profit label Rock The Cause Records. Album proceeds will go towards the charity Huntington’s Hope, which provides college funds for children affected by Huntington’s disease. The album will feature reworked tracks from artists such as the Flamings Lips and Sharon Van Etten among others, as well as the first studio track from former Replacements drummer Chris Mars (Mixd Up Kidz). Our first peek at the comp is Walkmen frontman Hamilton Leithauser’s jangling version of “To Susan On The West Coast Waiting,” a hit single from Donovan’s 1969 Barabajagal. Leithauser turns what was originally a soft and crooning ballad into a lively late-’60s ramble with bluesy guitar licks, jingling tambourines, and booming verses backed by a harmonious chorus of background singers. Listen below.

Gazing With Tranquility: A Tribute to Donovan tracklist:
01 Mixd Up Kidz – “Atlantis”
02 Apollo Cobra – “Barabajagal (Love is Hot)”
03 Maudlin – “Epistle to Dippy”
04 Colony House – “Sunshine Superman”
05 Hamilton Leithauser – “To Susan On the West Coast…”
06 Jillian Rae – “Superlungs My Supergirl”
07 Ivan & Alyosha – “Catch the Wind”
08 Sharon Van Etten – “Teen Angel”
09 Brett Dennan – “Colours”
10 Lissie – Happiness Runs
11 Little Man – “There is a Mountain”
12 Astronautalis – “Season of the Witch”
13 Savannah Smith – “Lalena”
14 Verskotzi – “Mellow Yellow”
15 The Flaming Lips – “Atlantis”

Gazing with Tranquility: A Tribute to Donovan is out 10/16 via Rock The Cause Records. Pre-order it beginning this Tuesday 8/4 and get Leithauser’s “To Susan On The West Coast Waiting” instantly.

via Source

Mike Hawk
I'm a writer and connoisseur of all types of music. I've been doing this for over 10 years now. Some of my favorite artists include Drake, J. Cole, Jay-Z, Travis Scott and Migos. [email protected]